VFW Awards Firefighters of the Year

Photos by Harlem-Roscoe Fire Photographer Sheryl Drost


April 16, 2011

"Congratulations to Lt. Doug Wolfe and Firefighter Shannon Burbach. They were the co-recipients of this year's VFW "Firefighter of the Year" award. The recognition and award was based upon their commitment and dedication the fire district. An example of this can be found in an article in the February 2011 issue of our newsletter. Congratulations Doug and Shannon. I would like to thank the VFW for continuing their support of this program and recognition of those in the fire service." Harlem-Roscoe Fire Chief Don Shoevlin

Chief Shoevlin poses with Shannon Burbach and Lt. Doug Wolfe

After receiveing their awards, Shannon and Doug posed for a picture with North Park's Awardee, Elizabeth Werckle. (Loves Park's awardee, Doug Edwards was unable to attend the ceremony.

Shannon and Doug are joined by their proud wives, Heather Burbach and Carolyn Wolfe.

Loves Park VFW Post Commander presented all three Fire Chiefs with a donation for their fire departments.

The three Fire Chiefs tease each other before they pose for a picture. L-r, Loves Park Fire Chief Phil Foley, Harlem-Roscoe Fire Chief Don Shoevlin, and North Park Fire Chief Steve Pearson.