The original Station Two was 17,800 square feet and was built in 1978. It was located at 825 Ralston Road, Machesney Park, Illinois 61115. Harlem Township also invested money in the station to see that the station exterior was brick.

Trustees Jim Hall, Carl Rich, and Bill Woodward were instrumental in procuring this station. The station was built on land sold to the fire district for $1.00 by Winnebago County. A second lot was bought through eminent domain. A bank note was taken out for $85,000 to build the station.

The station included four bays, an office, and two restrooms. The station also had a portable seven kilowatt backup generator in case of an electrical outage, an Eagle Air Cascade System and a hose washer.

The station was remodeled in 2002. The new addition added a kitchen, offices, meeting room, bunk room, laundry room, mechanical room, more rest rooms, a radio room and a lounge/exercise room to the existing fire apparatus bay. An automated exhaust system was also added.

In 2010, some inside remodeling was done that moved the radio room and officer’s room closer to the bay and added individual bunk rooms.

Station Two had the perfect setup for a car wash and many were held for fundraisers or benefits.

Apparatus currently housed at Station Two are as follows: one 75’ Quint, one 1,000 gallon engine, one mini pumper, one ALS Ambulance, one suburban, and a boat.


L-r Standing - Ken Nelson, Bill Solem, Greg Hartman, Jim Kretsinger and Harold Bandemer. L-r frot row - Clarence Grammer, Bill McHugh, Jim McHugh and Bob Ramsey.



1997 - L-r Kneeling, Mike Sherbon, ??, Trent Kinison, Laverne Sarver, Captain Dave Harmon, Rick Harvey, and Denise Singel. L-r Standing, Jaime Wagner, Lenny Hemmer, Michele Reffett, Dough Wolfe, Tim Schrader, Tyler Kinison, Jay Alms, Lt. Steve Fiepke, Bob Ramsey, Lt. Kirk Wilson, Bob Kohler and Kevin Porter.

2005 - L-r Kneeling Shannon Burbach, Matt Lane, Jim Johnson, Paul Stanphill, Kevin Bouton and Chris Scott. L-r Standing, Lt. Jay Alms, Lt. Laverne Sarver, Ryan Alms, Brad Delmore, Doug Wolfe, Jerry McCormick, Adam Arnould, Mike Powell, Mike Sherbon Capt. Tim Schrader and Deputy Chief John Presley.